Exhibits have started arriving for Doddington Hall’s third biennial sculpture exhibition. Even though it does not open until the end of July, the event takes over a month to set up with over 450 pieces to site within the Elizabethan family home’s grounds. This year, the exhibition boasts numerous stunning pieces by successful sculptors from the industry’s top talent.

 

This year, site specific installations are being created for Doddington Hall by sculptors Chris Eckersley (www.chriseckersley.co.uk), Lucy Strachan (www.lucystrachan.viewbook.com), Linda Johns (www.lindajohns.com) and Peter Little (www.hortisculptures.com/work/peter-little). Chris Eckersley’s land-covering piece will be created during the exhibition and will feature 1500 dashes of blue placed between the garden’s ha-ha and the pyramid, creating a haze of colour, perfect for summer sun; grass artist Lucy Strachan’s main piece will see artificial grass playfully moulded over the garden’s Elizabethan mellow brick walls plus topiary ‘fish’ swimming alongside the Hall’s own topiary; figurative and abstract sculptor Linda Johns will be creating wire figures suspended inside a hollow under yew trees, the wire displayed ethereally against the yew’s dark green interior for dramatic effect. Hortisculptor Peter Little, who brought his suspended pod to the 2014 exhibition, will be building a pond with a bridge leading to an inspirational mossy, wet pod.

 

The exhibition will also showcase celebrated sculptor and designer Rebecca Newnham, whose work exploring energy, sound and mass will be sited throughout the gardens (www.rebeccanewnham.co.uk). Other featured sculptors include Paul Vanstone with his beautiful marble Talking Heads (www.paulvanstone.co.uk); sculptor and designer Howard Boycott’s extraordinary slate pyramid (www.howardboycott.co.uk) and Ruth Moilliet’s magical seed heads (www.moilliet.co.uk).

 

Families enjoy exploring the exhibition as there is something for everyone to enjoy, but this year there will be a special interactive piece. A large dragon by willow sculptor Carole Beavis (www.carolebeavis.co.uk) will be built on site for visitors of all ages to touch, explore and even enter as well as tying fabric onto it when they arrive to create texture. (More information on this project in ‘notes to editors’ including details of its funding.)

 

“In total, work by over 75 leading British and European sculptors will be featured,” explains James Birch, who runs the Doddington Hall Estate alongside his wife Claire. “The level of talent is higher than ever, and extraordinary pieces by established sculptors and artists will be around every corner. We will have 450 original and inspirational pieces, most of which will be for sale. Our biennial exhibition attracts people of all ages, and brings a lot of enjoyment so we are delighted to hold it at Doddington for the third time.”

 

There will be a wide range of work and styles spanning classic, modern and contemporary. Mediums include marble, stone, slate, steel, water, bronze, ceramics, glass, aluminium, plastic, rubber and artificial grass.

 

‘Sculpture at Doddington 2016’ takes place between Saturday 30 July and Sunday 11 September (open daily) and represents the chance to enjoy one of the largest exhibitions of outdoor art exhibitions in the country. There will also be an indoor exhibition located in Doddington Hall’s Granary Barn. A full colour exhibition catalogue and guide will be available; all pieces will be for sale.

 

For more details www.doddingtonhall.com or call 01522 694 308.